Skip to main content

AYA National Office Staff Directory

Michele Kabel
Name: Michele Kabel
Title: Executive Director
Responsible Officer (RO)
Responsibilties: Directs AYA program; stategic planning; partner relations.
Phone: (203) 399-5096
Email: mkabel@aifs.org
   
Lisa Schacter
Name: Lisa Schacter
Title: Deputy Director
Alternate Responsible Officer (ARO)
Responsibilities: Assists director in general program oversight and staff developmement; accounting and billing; AYA National Meeting.
Phone: (203) 399-5070
Email: lschacter@aifs.org
   
   
Ashleigh Caws
Name: Ashleigh Caws
Title: Director of Operations and Special Programs
Alternate Responsible Officer (ARO)
Responsibilities: Oversees operations and grant programs administration; oversight of compliance and SEVIS.
Phone: (203) 399-5063
Email: acaws@aifs.org
   
Virginia George
Name: Virginia George
Title: Director of Student Services
Alternate Responsible Officer (ARO)
Responsibilities: Oversees Student Services department and Regional Director team; responsible for training content, planning and executing student orientations and field staff training.
Phone: (203) 399-5097
Email: vgeorge@aifs.org
   
Ashley Byrnes
Name: Ashley Byrnes
Title: Regional Director, Placement Specialist
Responsibilities: Oversees student placement and host family recruitment in AZ, AR, CO, CT, DE,GA, ID, IL, IN, ME,MD,MA,MI,MS, MO, NE, NH, NJ, NY, NC, ND, OR, PA, RI, SC, SD, VA, WA, WV.
Phone: (203) 399-5169
Email: abyrnes@aifs.org
   
Deanna Scalzo
Name: Deanna Scalzo
Title: Regional Director, Support Specialist
Responsibilities: Oversees on-program student support in AL, AK, AZ, AR, CA, GA, HI, ID, IA, KY, LA, MD, MO, NE, NV, NM, NC, OK, OR, SC, TX, VA, WA, WY.
Phone: (203) 399-5560
Email: dscalzo@aifs.org
   
Inara Laganovska
Name: Inara Laganovska
Title Regional Director, Support Specialist
Responsibilities: Oversees on-program student support in CO, CT, DE, FL, IL, IN, KS, ME, MA, MI, MN, MS, MT, NH, NJ, NY, ND, OH, PA, RI, SD, TN, UT, VT, WI.
Phone: (203) 399-5085
Email: ilaganovska@aifs.org
   
Lily Earle-Hecht
Name: Lily Earle-Hecht
Title Regional Director, Placement Specialist
Responsibilities: Oversees student placement and host family recruitment in AL, AK, CA, FL, HI, IA, KS, KY, LA, MN, MT, NE, NM, OH, OK, TN, TX, UT, WI, WY.
Phone: (203) 399-5041
Email: learlehecht@aifs.org
   
Lytasha Blackwell
Name: Lytasha Blackwell
Title Program Assistant
Responsibilities: Responsible for reviewing and processing student applications; host family vetting; administrative support to operations and student services teams.
Phone: (203) 399-5056
Email: lblackwell@aifs.org
   
Tricia Bobwich
Name: Tricia Bobwich
Title Program Assistant, Compliance & Operations
Responsibilities: Provides operational support to compliance team and student services; host family vetting; data management, systems support.
Phone: (203) 399-5569
Email: tbobwich@aifs.org
   
Michael Prior
Name: Michael Prior
Title Program Assistant, Field Staff & Placement
Responsibilities: Responsible for onboarding, supporting and motivating AYA's field staff network and 2nd visitors; provides administrative support to placement and operation teams.
Phone: (203) 399-5035
Email: mprior@aifs.org
   

AYA National Meeting

Dublin, November 2nd - 6th, 2023

Learn More
  • Kennedy-Lugar Youth Exchange and Study
  • Future Leaders Exchange
  • Alliance for International Education and Cultural Exchange
  • CSIET - Council for Standards on International Educational Travel